By Hannah Mossman
Today I’m rather jealous because I have returned to Manchester from the first week of the Caer Llan fieldcourse, leaving four lucky staff and 40 students in the beautiful Welsh landscape (and with the amazing food!).

On arrival in Caer Llan I was excited to set up our moth-traps. It was going to be my first time trapping solo and I was keen to test my ID skills, and hoped the students would share my enthusiasm (I needn’t have worried about the latter – keen eyes made for much better ID-ing!). As a plant ecologist I am more used to relaxed starts (plants wait for me!), so I was a bit bleary when my alarm went off early each morning to empty the traps. But over the week, we were rewarded with 30 species and 222 individuals, including a good record of a migrant species (Dark Sword-Grass).

Whilst the moths had small but dedicated following, it was the camera trapping that caught the students imagination, particularly following WILD BOAR on our first night!! The local landowners didn’t even know wild boar were on their land! We thought that this couldn’t be topped, but then Chris, Michaela and Martin the bouncing baby badgers arrived on camera. Check out the footage at http://tinyurl.com/nnkumny

